8 ready to be inducted into the Women’s Hall of Fame


The Oklahoma Commission on the Status of Women (OCSW) has selected eight women to be inducted into the Oklahoma Women’s Hall of Fame (OWHOF). The women are to be honored at the induction ceremony on Friday, April 29 at the Omni Hotel and Resort in downtown Oklahoma City.

The winners are Sue Ann Arnall, Carleen Burger, Janice Dobbs, Wanda Jackson, Betty McElderry, Roseline Nsikak, Dr Kayse Shrum and Anna Belle Wiedemann.

To be eligible for the Oklahoma Women’s Hall of Fame, nominees must live in Oklahoma or be a former resident of Oklahoma. Inductees were named because they have made lasting contributions to the state of Oklahoma and beyond.

“Whether it’s positively elevating the status of women and girls, opening new frontiers for women, or accomplishments in one’s professional work, the OWHOF class of 2022 is special. We are honored to recognize these women with such great honor for the women of our great state,” said OCSW President Victoria Woods.

The 2022 Oklahoma Women’s Hall of Fame inductees are:

Sue Ann Arnall is an energy industry veteran and founder of the Arnall Family Foundation, which focuses on child welfare, animal welfare and criminal justice reform. She is the creator of the Diversion Hub, a program helping incarcerated women and men and an advocate for growth in Oklahoma.

Carleen Burger is a lifelong advocate for women, children and youth in Oklahoma. She lobbied for prenatal checkups and health care for incarcerated women. Burger is a generous supporter and advocate of the Oklahoma School of Science and Mathematics Foundation (OSSM), both generally and with underserved groups.

Janice Dobbs is a former Corporate Secretary of Chesapeake Energy and Devon Energy who played a pivotal role in transforming two small local oil and gas companies into international companies recognized as innovative leaders in the exploration of new sources of energy.

Wanda Jackson is a singer, songwriter and two-time Grammy nominee who has released music in the rock, country and gospel genres. Her string of 1950s singles dubbed her “The Queen o Rockabilly”. Counted among country music’s first female stars, Jackson is a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship Award-winning artist, as well as an inductee into the Rockabilly Hall of Fame, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, and the Oklahoma. Hall of fame.

Betty McElderry (posthumously) was the chairwoman of the Oklahoma Commission on the Status of Women under Governor George Nigh’s administration, former director of Girl’s State and recognized by Campaign and Elections Magazine as one of 74 Outstanding Women who helped change America.

Roseline Nsikak, MHR, MHP, BCPC, PhD is a world renowned philanthropist, psychotherapist and CEO/founder of two mental/behavioral health agencies. His career has been spent treating children, adolescents and adults with mental illness and drug and alcohol addiction. She has also served non-profit and faith-based organizations by developing modules and programs to enable them to meet the needs of the community as a whole.

Dr. Kayse Shrum is the 19th president of Oklahoma State University and the first woman to lead the institution. After earning her doctorate in osteopathic medicine from Oklahoma State University College of Osteopathic Medicine, she excelled as a faculty member and eventually as president of OSU-CHS, becoming the youngest and first woman president and dean of a medical school in the state of Oklahoma. As Oklahoma’s First Secretary of Science and Innovation, Shrum’s leadership helped form Oklahoma’s largest COVID diagnostics lab at OSU’s Stillwater Campus.

Anna Belle Wiedemann started out as the owner/operator of Slash C Ranch with her husband. She has built a life and career promoting Oklahoma agriculture and “Made In Oklahoma” food products in the state and around the world. Wiedemann served the public as a state representative and county commissioner and ultimately as director of international business and rural development with the Oklahoma Department. of Agriculture.

OWHOF President Carol Hefner said being named to the Oklahoma Women’s Hall of Fame is the highest honor for women in Oklahoma.

“The proceeds from the 20th anniversary of the Oklahoma Women’s Hall of Fame induction ceremony will establish a permanent display at the Women’s Hall of Fame,” she said. “Your participation in nominations and sponsorships will play a vital role in making this 20-year dream come true!”

The 2022 inductees add to the current 134 women who have been inducted into the Oklahoma Women’s Hall of Fame since 1983, after being created in 1982 by Governor George Nigh.

“The ceremony will include the presentation of the Guardian Award to an Oklahoma elected official and the Kate Barnard Award to a woman who exemplifies excellence in public service,” Hefner said. committee, I look forward to honoring these state officials, as well as welcoming several elected and appointed state officials at the event.

“It will be a special time to celebrate Oklahomans who are making a difference in the lives of women.”


Comments are closed.